HOME > WordMaster®

Here we are at the start of another terrific week! What will this week bring you? Hopefully lots of good times and memories that will last. 

Welcome back to WordMaster!
PREFECTURE / WARD   都道府県 / 区

Japan is divided into 47 political units called prefectures; for example, Ibaraki Prefecture, Ishikawa Prefecture, and Aichi Prefecture.

Eastern Tokyo is divided into 23 political units called wards; for example, Shinagawa Ward and Minato Ward. Sapporo, Nagoya, Osaka, and other large cities also have wards.

(Be careful: In English, Hokkaido (北海道), Osaka (大阪府), and Kyoto (京都府) are also called prefectures; but the official name for Tokyo (東京都) is "the Tokyo Metropolis", NOT "Tokyo Prefecture". In daily conversation, however, we usually just say "Tokyo".)

日本は47の行政区(都道府県)に分かれています。その行政単位のことを prefecture といいます。例: Ibaraki Prefecture (茨城県)、 Ishikawa Prefecture (石川県)、Aichi Prefecture (愛知県)

東京都には23の区があります。区のことを ward といいます。例: Shinagawa Ward (品川区)、Minato Ward (港区) 
札幌や名古屋、大阪などの大きな都市にも ward があります。

注意: 英語では、県だけでなく、道、府のことも prefecture と言います。ただし、東京都だけは、Tokyo Prefecture とは呼ばず、the Tokyo Metropolis が正式名称です。日常会話では、単にTokyo と言います。
1.a:Where are you from, Kaori?
b:I was born in Fukuoka Prefecture.
2.Hokkaido is the largest prefecture in Japan.
3.Thousands of Japanese spend their vacation in the islands of Okinawa Prefecture every summer.
4.a:How long have you lived in Fushimi Ward?
b:Ever since I moved to Kyoto ten years ago.
5.My monthly ward tax is 20,000 yen.
Take care!


  • @Work
    • This Month
  • For Life
  • 5 Categories 特徴から探す